C&B BOOKS, was started in 1995, by Carol Rogers & Brenda Piper.The motivation behind this book business, was the lack of affordable books written by black authors.  We decided to become an asset to our Youth and the African American community in a whole.  We offer our books for less then the major stores, we knew this would provide our readers with a wider variety of reading material. We have, titles for all ages in all catagories, fiction, non-fiction, spiritual, inspirational, educational etc.

Our History

Book Store

C&B Authors

Press

Customer Service



Pimpin' From the Pulpit to the Pews One Day I Saw a Black King In My Sisters Corner Use Me or Lose Me Roses are Thorns, Violets are True How Sweet It Is Swingers Zero Debt
Click on books to read review for that book

Ms. Carla M. Dean - Editor/Reviewer
Send Reviews to:

Carla M. Dean
C&B Books Reviewer
1904 Termon Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Greetings and welcome to my home on the web. Come right in and allow me this opportunity to introduce myself. My name is Carla M. Dean and I am the CEO & Editor of U Can Mark My Word Editorial Services. I have been blessed with a special talent of being able to provide a professional editing service to African American authors of both the published and self-published world of literature. As for credentials, I have.... More




Zero Debt
Title:Zero Debt
Author:Lynnette Khalfani
Publishing Date: September 2004
Suggested Retail: $14.95
Genre: Personal Finance/Self-Help



Check Out

NO WEAPON FORMED AGAINST ME SHALL PROSPER…AND NEITHER WILL DEBT WITH THIS BOOK IN MY POSSESSION.

Armed with this helpful guide, one will posses the ammunition needed to conquer that evil, suffocating, and all-too-common word - DEBT. After reading Zero Debt, I have a renewed determination to free myself from the restraints of debt and the stress associated with it.

Ms. Khalfani uses her own life experience to educate others on how to be financially savvy and not a prisoner of debt. Her vast knowledge of strategic budgeting, handling creditors, and the rights of consumers restores hope for those who may have given up on their chances of ever being debt free.

Zero Debt is written using easy to understand terminology. Therefore, one who is already overwhelmed by their financial situation does not become discouraged due to unfamiliar financial jargon. By utilizing a 30-day plan, Ms. Khalfani eases the reader into taking the necessary steps toward financial freedom. In addition, the appendixes supply the debtor with worksheets and contact information of credit bureaus and debt counseling firms. Throughout, Ms. Khalfani references money saving websites, making this guide even more valuable. Not only does Zero Debt provide you with a plan to help you become debt free, but it also gives tips on other financial subjects, such as credit card comparison shopping, the importance of insurance, creating a will, and ways to generate extra income.

I recommend everyone, including those "fortunate" enough to be without debt, own a copy of this resourceful publication.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Reviewers (4/06)

BACK TO TOP




Pimpin' From the Pulpit to the Pews
Title:Pimpin' From the Pulpit to the Pews
Author:Hasani Pettiford
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: June 2003
Retail Price: $14.95
C&B Price: $12.00



Check Out

Lust Begone, Purity Enter Stage Left!!!

In his novel, Pimpin' from the Pulpit to the Pews, Mr. Pettiford has exposed the demon that dwells in most churches but that many are afraid to confront: sexual sin.
This was a definite eye-opening read as it revealed that the same sexual sins that exist today did in fact exist back when our Lord Jesus still walked amongst the living. Sexual impurity within the doors of churches has been a constant struggle among members of the congregation and the church leadership. This novel proves through the revelations of others' experiences that even the holiest of people are not immune from the many temptations of the flesh.
Adultery, homosexuality, incest, and masturbation are among several sexual topics that Mr. Pettiford addresses head on. Mr. Pettiford tells all in a raw, in your face deliverance. Pimpin' from the Pulpit to the Pews does not only point out these sexual weaknesses within churchgoers, but it offers suggestions on how one can go about overcoming these impure desires. Taking the rearing ugly beast of sexual sin by the horns, Mr. Pettiford arms us with scriptures that were written for us to utilize in our battles with this ungodly demon.
I would like to commend Mr. Pettiford on a well-written novel that will hopefully help others to conquer their sexual transgressions. In this day of age when sexual promiscuity seems to be commonplace within households and churches, this novel couldn't have come about at a better time.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Editorial Services (4/04)

BACK TO TOP




One Day I Saw a Black King
Title:One Day I Saw a Black King
Author:JD Mason
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: September 2003
Retail Price: $19.95

From a Dark Past to a Bright Future

Well worth the wait, JD Mason has written what could easily be considered an epic. This compelling story of two people who meet by chance, but are drawn together by circumstances from their past that still haunts them, is a well written masterpiece of its time.
After being abandoned by her mother and then unsuccessfully keeping her eight-year-old sister from being separated from her, Connie Rodgers' life takes a drastic change once she becomes a victim of the cruel foster system. Running away in a desperate attempt to flee the sexual abuse she's become subject to, she has to quickly learn the horrible lessons of the mean streets in order to survive. After severe hunger sends her to the garbage cans behind the popular soul food restaurant in the neighborhood, she finds shelter and love from the owner, Edwina, who has vowed to stick around until Connie is old enough to care for herself.
Fourteen-year-old Mattie dies while giving birth to a baby boy who is said to be the conception of a rape. Raised by a grandmother who is unable to develop any emotional feelings for him, John King decides that becoming attached to anything or anyone isn't a possibility. As he runs from the demons of his past that visit him as nightmares, he drifts from one town to another. When the nightmares become unbearable, he takes it as a sign that it's time to move on.
Upon his arrival in Denver, Colorado, he crosses the path of Connie who is dealing with her own demons from the mistrust she's learned over the years. Neither one is looking for a relationship, but feels a sense of comfort in one another. John and Connie eventually learn that in order to move forward, they have to first look back and deal with their past. The only question is will visiting their past bring them back together in their futures?
One Day I Saw a Black King is a book that will have you talking about it long after you've finished reading it. JD Mason did an excellent job on her sophomore effort. You'll be on the edge of your seat with anticipation as who, what, when, and where of the story is revealed. While the topic is heavy and may be considered a bit dark, this book is a definite must read for anyone who loves a story that touches not only your mind, but your soul.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Editorial Services (4/04)

BACK TO TOP




In My Sisters Corner
Title:In My Sisters' Corner
Author:Jessica Tilles
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: November 2003
Retail Price: $15.00

Sisterly love, Sisterly pain
Sit back, relax, and get ready to indulge in the drama filled lives of the Howard sisters. This is one novel that will have you still talking about it long after you have set it down.
Like most sisters, the Howard sisters have always been close. However, also like most sisters, they grew up and followed their own dreams that pulled them in different directions. Unfortunately, their lives were not turning out to be the fairytale lives they once dreamed of having.
At the foundation of the sisters is Free Howard, the eldest of the four sisters and a successful business owner of a floral boutique. After their mother's death, Free finds herself filling her mother's shoes and trying to keep peace, harmony, and unity amongst the four sisters. Outside of family and business, Free doesn't have much of a social life. Well, not until she meets Samuel who could very possibly turn out to be her "Mr. Right". That is if she doesn't drive him right out of her life with her insecurities. Will Free continue to play the old maid, or will she finally learn to love herself and allow true love into her life?
Jade, the next to the oldest sister, finds that Joy, her insecure and possessive lover, may not be the one for her after all. After Joy starts to demonstrate tendencies of a not so healthy relationship, Jade feels that it is time for her to rethink their relationship. Meeting Jonathon Meadows does not help matters. Jonathon is successful, debonair, and charming. The combination of those "three" qualities found in "one" man has Jade at the point where she is questioning her sexuality. But the possibility of Jade turning her life around and walking the straight and narrow is not an option as far as Joy is concerned. And she will stop at nothing to prove it to Jade.
At her husband's request, China gave up her job to focus on and care for her husband and two children. Being the faithful wife and dutiful mother, China is clueless as to what is causing her husband to act so strange. However, the clues are there, staring her right in her face. After discovering his infidelities, China is forced to leave her husband, Ron, of fourteen years. Ron's cheating has been the substitution for his abusive tendencies. As if the fact of knowing that her husband is cheating is not enough, China is in for the shock of her life when her husband's secret lover is finally revealed.
Maya, the baby of the four, is the sister who strayed from home against their mother's wishes to pursue her dream of becoming an aspiring actress. Only thing is she didn't get the part she was hoping to land. Instead, Maya finds herself at the mercy of her abusive pimp. Driven to the brink of insanity, Maya takes matters into her own hands in order to escape the hell that she has gotten herself caught up in.
In My Sisters' Corner is filled with witty dialogue, shocking revelations, and tear-jerking moments. To me, this novel has a Soul Food flavah minus Big Momma.
After reading In My Sisters' Corner, you will be scouring the bookshelves of your local bookstore in search of more releases from this gifted storyteller. Hopefully, her next novel, "Apple Tree", will follow closely behind.
Ms. Tilles loves to hear comments and/or praise regarding her novel(s) and can be reached via email at jtilles@aol.com.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Editorial Services (1/04)

BACK TO TOP




Use Me or Lose Me
Title:Use Me or Lose Me
Author:Maryann Reid
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: August 2003
Retail Price: $23.95/Hardcover



Check Out

Use Me or Lose Me reunites us with Farah Washington from Reid's debut, Sex and the Single Sister. Now an ambitious anchorwoman, Washington is hard at work trying to secure the host spot on the station's # 1 morning show, Rise and Shine. Still single, Farah is not only looking to keep her move steady up the corporate ladder of broadcasting, but she'd also like to find that special man who will make her puzzle complete.
Jamaican born attorney, Lenox Whitworth, is all that Farah has been searching for , extremely handsome, rich, fine, and well connected. While helping her to achieve her professional goals, he plays an even bigger part in the matters of the heart with her. From what is perceived to be a sense of obligation that stems from love, Farah tries to turn a blind eye when things between she and Lenox starts to sour and he blatantly flaunts his kept mistress in her face.
From exotic trips, shopping sprees, and slamming parties, this book takes us through the motions of what happens when ambitions and misperceived conceptions are put before feelings. Use Me or Lose Me is a real page turner that will evoke emotions and keep you hooked until the last sentence.

--Reviewed by S.G.C., U Can Mark My Word Reviewer (2/04)

BACK TO TOP




Roses are Thorns, Violets are True
Title:Roses are Thorns, Violets are True
Author:Shelia M. Goss
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: August 2003
Retail Price: $12.95



Check Out

Aromatic Chronicle of Sibling Contentions
Roses are Thorns Violets are True is a uniquely written story of sibling rivalry to the umpteenth degree.
Rose is an emotionally controlling beauty who is used to having things her way and getting what she wants, even if it belongs to her sister. Through deceit, cunning and underhanded wiles, Rose betrays her sister to get her sister's men, as if she doesn't have enough of her own. Moreover, despite her thriving career, she still would rather have her sister's spotlight than her own.
Violet, an equally beautiful woman, seems to be an enabler of her sister's dysfunctions. She forgives her sister for what, to nearly everyone, would seem to be the most unforgivable act of betrayal, not only once, but time and time again. Until finally, unable to handle the abuse anymore, Violet moves away. Some years later, Violet finds her sister Rose at her door asking for forgiveness and love again.
How strong is a sister's love?
At this point in the book, I did expect a little more in the way of a twist, a turn or maybe even some mystery. However, I felt the book dropped off somewhat in that regard. Though, the story's plot of twin sisters and their issues is carried through well. At first, the author's challenging attempt of writing the book in first and second person voicing was a little confusing, but in time, it came together to make the book a very good read as far as getting to know the characters. What I appreciated the most from this author's first offering was that she resisted the urge to over explain the story and repeat dialogue, which made the book a nice smooth read.
To contact Sheila, please feel free to email her at sheliagoss@aol.com.

--Reviewed by Constance Shaffer, U Can Mark My Word Reviewer (2/04)

BACK TO TOP




How Sweet It Is
Title:How Sweet It Is
Author:Crystal M. Ellis
Genre:Contemporary Fiction
Publishing Date: December 2004
Retail Price: $12.00



Check Out

How Sweet It Is…certainly left a good taste in my mouth
Crystal Ellis has done a spectacular job with her sophomore novel, How Sweet It Is, an outstandingly written novel about three very different individuals.
Channing Cray, Founder and Fashion Designer of Sweet Things, has just went through one of the most difficult times of her life…burying her mother. What makes it even more difficult is that she blames her adulterous minister father for her mother’s death. In attempt to escape the pressures of forgiveness, she picks up and moves out west. Once there, she is befriended by Dr. Gavin Lyles, a physician who helps mentally abused children and adolescents. However, his friendship may cost Channing more than she bargained for.
Vanta Raye, a waitress by day and undercover stripper by night, has her heart set on becoming Mrs. Gavin Lyles. And she will stop at nothing to make it happen, even if it means denying her own blood.
Once the lives of these three become entangled, it is nothing short of a miracle that they live to tell about it. The spiral of events that take place keeps the readers enthralled and on the edge of their seat awaiting what will happen next.
Crystal’s flair for detail and ability to reel the reader in made the story a satisfying read. I must admit that at first glance I was hesitant to review the book because of its small print. However, I’m so glad I didn’t allow it to discourage me from experiencing the stimulating style of Ms. Ellis. Uniquely written, How Sweet It Is will be a treat for many readers to divulge in.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Reviewer (6/05)

BACK TO TOP




Swingers
Title:Swingers
Author:Torrian Ferguson
Genre:Contemporary/Erotic Fiction
Publishing Date: November 2004
Retail Price: $14.95



Check Out

Fool in Love…Or Fool for Love?
Author Torrian Ferguson has touched erotica on a new level with his descriptive and explicit details of the sexual activities of Greg and Rena Robbins, a married couple whose spark in the bedroom has fizzled out. Greg, possessing the typical male ego, feels his quest is to conquer as many women sexually as he can, while expecting his wife to remain home faithful. Since Greg doesn’t seem to be able to cure himself of his philandering ways, Rena takes on an “if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em” attitude.
Swingers opens the door and allows the reader to share in the sexual escapades of Greg and Rena Robbins, those of which I found to be a little too good to be true at times. In an effort to salvage their marriage, Greg, a successful senior advisor at a major stock brokerage, and Rena, a pediatrician with her own practice, take the advice of a counselor and open themselves up to new and daring sexual explorations as a married couple…with other couples. In doing so, they also open themselves up to the repercussions that result from their promiscuous behavior. Will their vows of “for better or for worse” be able to withstand the tribulations Greg and Rena must endure and overcome as a result of fulfilling an underlying fantasy? Or will this be another case of curiosity killing the cat, or in this situation, the cat and the dog?
Upon completing this novel, I was left with astonishment. For these to be professional adults, I found the antics of the characters to be over the top and quite frankly, childish. Their reactions to certain situations are those I would expect from my teenage son. In addition, the typos, incorrect grammar, and content inconsistencies hindered me from fully enjoying the story, causing me to stumble every few pages or so. My suggestion to Torrian would be that even though you had an interesting and risqué plot, invest in an editor so your readers will be able to better enjoy the story you have penned.
With some scenes actually causing me to blush, I would have to say this book is perfect for the uninhibited reader, which leaves me to wonder what Torrian plans to put out next for his awaiting, and curious, fans. Needless to say, I will never look at sex the same way again.

--Reviewed by Carla M. Dean, U Can Mark My Word Reviewer (6/05)

BACK TO TOP




Here at C&B, We Are Always Open To Suggestions & Opinions
Feel Free to email us
or Leave a Comment in our Guest Book.
Your comments mean better service. Grow with Us!
Please note all prices are subject to change without notice

TERMS AND CONDITIONS:

CONFIDENTIAL:
C&B Books will keep all information received in the strictest confidence.
We will not share any personal information with anyone outside of our website.
SHIPPING & HANDLING:
Standard delivery-Usually Ships in 24 hours of order.
Rates are available for overnight delivery
Email for additional shipping rate.

We use PayPal to shop secure using our shopping cart.




To Order by Mail
Print Orderform


Back to Top of Page | Home Page
Designed by DifDesigns     Contact Webdesigner


Copyright  © 2002-2008   All Rights Reserved    C&B Books Distribution
65-77 160th Street, Flushing, NY 11365 - #3A
Phone number: 718-591-4525 9am - 10pm Daily